Banned book week

1888687_10152270480746813_3049804720412313024_nIt’s one of my favorite weeks, banned book week, celebrating the fact that good art scares the living crap out of people!

Maybe the coolest part of banned book week is that the ACLU published a scroll over infograph to give information to why each of these famous books pictured was banned.

Do you have an all-time favorite banned book? Mine is probably a tie. Slaughterhouse Five and Farenheit 451 (a book banned about banning books!)

 

 

11 comments on “Banned book week

  1. Oh gosh, such a tough question. Any book worth banning is worth reading, imho. I would put “Ulysses” up there (probably because I just finished reading it). Also “Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone.” I was at a local indie bookstore this past weekend and they had a banned book display along with quotes from institutions that banned them. For Harry Potter, they claimed it was “A masterpiece of Satanic deception.” LMAO! Made me want to read it again. 😉

  2. I always have mixed feelings about banned book week. While 90% of the books on the list have me scratching my head, I find myself thinking “Maybe ‘The Naked Lunch’ can wait till college before it’s on a required reading list”. I can understand some parents not wanting their kids to be expired to some books’ particularly graphic sexual content, but to say that To Kill a Mockingbird promotes white supremacy is probably the stupidest thing I’ve ever heard.

  3. Thanks for celebrating banned books. I haven’t read all the books in the image, but they also have made a big mark in our culture, besides having in common that they’ve been banned. I agree that Farenheit 451 was a great book, in showing us what happens when you’re scared of the power within books.

  4. I find it so ridiculous to ban a book and I am disgusted by the fact that the government can decide what is ‘appropriate’ for us to read. There are some great books in this list. I own some of these books and I don’t care who bans them. I’ll keep reading regardless and I’ll let my children read them too (when they’re old enough to understand, of course). I’ve always hated censorship.

Leave a Reply

