Ink love for your favorite book?

Buzzfeed had a fun little article about 50 amazing tatoos inspired by Children’s classics (though I would agrue that some books such as The Little Prince are better read by adults!)

I won't lie, I am now craving this.....

I won’t lie, I am now craving this…..

Most of the pieces are fairly creative and well done. And it got me thinking, do you have any literary ink? (If so please post pics below in commment section!)

Would you get a permant marking of your favorite work? Or do you think tattooing your favorite childhood work is just a bad idea?

13 comments on “Ink love for your favorite book?

  1. I have a tattoo of an invisible glass slipper! LOL. But seriously me no though if anyone is willing to live with any tat permanently and it means that much then go for it. Just remember regrets are forever.

  2. Ooh wow, I do like the picture.
    Taking that kind of ink it might need an additional meaning to the person. Most the time favourite book or literature or art always make you feel special in some way. so yeah I know I would, just like one would tattoo their fav music artist.
    But what am I to say. I got a comic book heroin on my back.

  3. I love The Lord of the Rings and Alice in Wonderland tatts. Not sure it would get them myself but I’ll admit to having already designed a tattoo based on my trilogy that will be joining the rest of my body art shortly.

  4. I agree – I think it would have to have some deeper personal meaning before I’d consider it. That’s some really nice work in the pic.

  5. I got Eyeore when I was 16, Winnie the Pooh when I was 19 and both Tigger and Piglet when I was 21.
    I itch for words now….I would like to get “Whatever happens, you will understand, won’t you” [A.A.Milne] somewhere near those four and I’d like to get “Such things happen” which is from A Reliable Wife by Robert Goolrick. There are others I would like too, but those are at the top of my list.

  6. I’m not a fan of tattoos for myself, but I think most of these are pretty sweet! Hypothetically, if I ever got a tattoo, it’d be from Anne of Green Gables. Not sure on the specifics because there’s way too much to choose from.

  7. “The Velveteen Rabbit” being my favorite children’s story, I doubt I’ll be getting any tattoos from it any time in the forseeable. Funny coincidence, I just read “The Little Prince” a couple of weeks ago for the first time, and when I blogged it, I too said that it really isn’t a children’s book at all. By the way, I very highly recommend “Wind, Sand and Stars” (also by Saint-Exupéry). You will laugh, cry, and be overcome with wonder. It’s not for kids. Okay, now I’m rambling…

  8. I think tattoos that mean something to you are always a great idea! It doesn’t matter what the subject is, if you love it, ink it! I do not yet have any literary work but I do have plans. Once I find a talented artist and get the money together, I plan on getting a half sleeve of the wonderfully twisted world of American McGee’s Alice games. I love the Lewis Carroll version of Alice in Wonderland, but I also like things a bit darker, so the art in the games fascinates me. It’s a perfect combination for me: Something relevant to characters I have loved since I was a child plus feeding my dark side. It’s a win-win!

  9. Once upon a time, I would have had the Cat in the Hat; once upon a time, I would have had Alice’s Caterpillar. Now I’m glad I don’t.

    Although sometimes I still think about the Caterpillar…

Leave a Reply

