And then I realized that I was somebody

I wondered why somebody didn’t do something. Then I realized, I am somebody.

Source Unknown

I was recently watching “Horton hears a Who” with a friend (in case you forgot the book/movie plot it can be summed up in the simple phrase, “a person’s a person no matter how small,”) when I lamented to a friend, “why is it that in adulthood, we forget all the important lessons of childhood.” She responded sadly, “because adulthood makes us forget.”

I remember being a child, thinking I was going to end world hunger and create world peace on my hippie artist farm (my goal as a 13 year old.) By the time I was 20, I was so jaded with life, I swore I would only ever think of myself. That of course lasted a year maybe two at most, and I am dilligently working my way back to the 13 year old who would let nothing stop them.

It’s easy road to follow. The news is filled with awful stories every day. And it makes the world seem so bleak that there is nothing a person can do.

One such sobering fact : According to the World Literacy Foundation, one in five adults cannot read or write, 57 million primary aged children are not in school, and 123 million young people are unable to read or write.

Now what do you do with that information?

Ignore it?

Lament it?

Or try and change it?

Well one girl (who was 8 at the time) decided to try and change it. Holding book drives with eventually turned into a non-profit organization, “Read Indeed,” Maria Keller had a goal of donating a million books by the time she was 18. At 13, she has already passed her goal. You can read more here.

Never forget baby-steps can change the world. You can change the world. Don’t be jaded by past failures or the daunting task of it all. Forget how hard the road may be.  

If you don’t like what you see, rearrange it.

14 comments on “And then I realized that I was somebody

  1. What a beautiful post! And you’re so right – life does have this awful way of sucking that passion out of you, but it’s so important to fight to get it back. Children definitely are some of the best advocates in that regard. Have you ever watched TedTeens? It’s where teenagers deliver talks on topics on what is important to them – they’re great reminders of a mindset we should try to retain, at all costs.

  2. You have said so much in so little. Change is usually never global — its small. Insignificant. At least they seem that way at the time. Even small things like blogs. But a few words can change someone’s life. So thank you.

  3. I love this idea but I suppose I’m still a kid (more or less) so maybe some people would say that I’m still naive enough to believe that I can change the world but I just chose not to listen to those people. 🙂 Thanks for the awesome post!

Leave a Reply

