Breaking up with your book

Dearest —–

You must have seen it coming. My eyes have been wondering to other books on the shelf. I  have gingerly caress their spines as yours sat collecting dust.

And then there were those occasions when I did pick you up. After waiting months and months to see you, I sighed, enthralled perhaps for a minute or two, but quickly the feeling vanished and I was left, forcing myself to keep going, hoping inspiration would hit us again.

books_1612625c (1)

It didn’t.

I furrowed my head at your plot twists. What once seemed ingenious now became convoluted and redundant. As more and more seemingly filler characters came into the picture, as your story become self-aggrandizing and obese, as your story veered off into tangent after tangent in an obvious allegory to Christ which for some reason almost every dystopian series feels it must follow, I sat and wondered, were you the same series I fell in love with?

Maybe it was the months and months I waited for you. Reading about you. Dreaming about what would lie in your undiscovered pages. My mind put you up on a pedestal that only Kurt Vonnegut and my other masters of literature could fill.

Or maybe it’s me.

It been over a year since I read  your last chapter, caressed your pages lovingly, let your word bleed into my reality. A lot can happen in a year, perhaps we have just grown apart.

14 comments on “Breaking up with your book

  1. This is exactly how I felt about Game of Thrones. It was so hyped to me. Promised that I would enjoy it. I got through about 150 pages. Then it sat, and sat, and sat while I read entire series of other books. I broke up with it. It was messy I don’t see any reconciliation in sight.

    • I made it to Dance of Dragons and thought I’d puke reading another scene of someone on a boat or the inner thoughts of the Imp ‘where do whores go.’ It got all to passive for me and lost the magic of the first three.

  2. LOVE THIS…I know the feeling. I had that very experience recently with a writer whose work I’ve read for 2 decades. Only after 2 boring chapters describing the main character followed by him killing his brother for seemingly no reason, I just tossed it across the room without a thought nor any guilt. It was my dime, and my time, and that piece of crap wasn’t worth either.

    However, I find that I’m more often trying to “break it off” with a well-known author whose prose, perhaps, I hadn’t sampled before. For example, I like thrillers, and I’d bought four or five by a certain author (we’ll call her Ms. C) because she was endorsed by another writer of thrillers whose books I greatly enjoyed. Unfortunately, when I happened to come upon Ms. C’s first book at a thrift store and decided to take a gander a couple of weeks ago, I didn’t make it beyond the 4th chapter because it was so badly written. Sigh. And Ms. C has been on the bestseller list for more than a decade. I shake my head in wonder and disappointment. I did pick Ms. C’s first novel up 3 or 4 times trying to read it, thinking there must be SOMETHING of worth in there considering her following, but I never found it. Yesterday, I tossed her first thriller and all the others by Ms. C into the giveaway box for Goodwill in the hopes someone else might find them a good read because, apparently, I don’t have the fortitude to do so…:)

  3. “Dear Thucydides, You’re a great historian and I love what you’ve done. I’m just sorry that Batman keeps distracting me… I think you should know, it’s not you, it’s me.”

  4. The last series I got into was the comic detective stories by Simon Brett. I don’t tend to get into series because there are so many many things I want to read that I don’t want too much sameness. But I did so look forward to coming across a Brett I hadn’t read. Until one day I picked one up and it didn’t make me laugh any more. I guess we move on.

    Loved your letter, thought it was inspired.

  5. Wonderfully said! One of the first things I teach my elementary students in ready workshop is that it’s okay to abandon a book–there are sooooo many other great books out there, waiting for you! I think a lot of us had it ingrained in our heads that we need to finish our books–much like we need to finish the food on our plates.

  6. Pingback: Breaking up with your book | Geeky Girl Owns the World

Leave a Reply

