Mr Darcy has groupies (gasp)!

Mr. Darcy has groupies!

blogdarcy

All the word nerds wearing this are of course screaming, “Duh!”

Apparently, the mainstream media is now discovering something that the rest of us book nerds already new! Women love Jane Austen and a lot of us really love Mr. Darcy. 

The video is worth a view if you can get over the completely obnoxious covering of it. Both reports seem completely unable to grasp people’s love of Jane Austen and in insulting and condescending way in their labeling of groupies.  And as a music, comic and word groupie, a subculture that has been around for well a long time, I find it slightly horrific that others can’t seem to grasp or understand its existence. 

But if you can get through the obnoxious banter or  if you skip to min 3 of the video, you can see some pretty awesome reenactments, events,  and costumes.  (I’m completely envious of the weekend teas!) 

 

10 comments on “Mr Darcy has groupies (gasp)!

  1. I watched the video. Thanks so much for posting this. I’ve been a fan of Jane Austen’s for about 45 years, and I wrote my thesis about her in college. And, yes, I’ve been in love with Mr. Darcy all this time, too.

  2. You can keep Darcy, I find Charles Bingley to be far more interesting…and I really want to grow up to be Mr. Bennet. In the interest of full disclosure though…I’m basing all this on the 1995 BBC television version as I have yet to manage to read through the novel in its entirety.

Leave a Reply

