So this is being an artist?

Can it be? My first book of plays has finally been edited (OK twice now) once through an editor, once through a former classmate of mine (I majored in technical writing and editing) and now I just need to make the final cuts and stick it on Kindle.

Editing is I believe one of my worst enemies....Editing...

Ironic because in college I loved editing. I saw it as a giant puzzle. You have to make the right moves, search the whole of your mind to find just the right word that can make or break a piece. It riveted me in college. I lived for finding lost referents or dangling participial.

But as a writer, creativity swirls around me. At most times, I usually have five or six writing projects going, and it takes most of my energy to set all of my many projects aside to move one ahead.  I live on this,  breath it in.

Editing, for me is the opposite of this. Slow and methodical.  Everything my artistic soul hates.

Besides, I’m a perfectionist, and something about letting my work out there for the world to see, when I’m sure I could make it better ( I can always make it better) is horrifying.

But as I keep telling myself, all of these plays have been produced. It’s time to let them into the world and move on.

I can do it. Can’t I?

And I’m fueling myself with the fact that I signed my first real contract today for my play “The Wall,” I’ll have the details for you when they post it all. 🙂

Time to embrace the writing life.

 

16 comments on “So this is being an artist?

  1. When writing it is like being on a flip side of it all. Missing simple mistakes because your head says it is right. Well it still knows what should be there. I hate reading my own stuff as a reader and finding silly mistakes.
    But one should stop on some point with checking. Just drives me nuts.
    You can do this. You ARE doing it. Keep smiling

  2. I have the same experience. I studied technical writing and business communication in college, and logged many many hours editing. I even enjoyed it, to some extent. Even when I was doing it professionally, revising technical docs for barely-literate project managers (and this isn’t me being pretentious, some of them literally wrote sentences without subjects, just verbs and buzz-words), I could kinda-sorta enjoy it.

    When I decided to really pursue creative writing, I enjoyed editing my stories at first. But then I found myself spending crazy amounts of time with one story and neglecting ideas for others… I had to sacrifice creation to fix issues with works I’d “moved on” from, or worse, for tidying up minor language problems. I don’t have anyone I feel comfortable showing my work to, so that’s part of the problem. There’ve been a few times after 20+ hours and multiple revisions I’ve just said, “Screw it” and submitted work that still needed work. My last major story, “Decoys,” for example. I’m proud of it, but I’m afraid to look at it again because I can’t bear the thought of having to backtrack again.

    (I meant this comment to be two lines, but I’m at my day job that means nothing to me but continued access to hot water, music, coffee, wine, and bagels.)
    A solid support network can

  3. I find one useful trick for spotting typos is to use a text to speech program and follow it on a print out. Good for spotting things like thought, though, through that look very similar but sound different.

  4. Editing AAAAARGH but i have learnt to leave my poems to breath for a day or two before letting them loose and to print them off and read them on paper, some how typo’s are harder to see on a computer screen but I am learning only took 20 yrs or so

  5. Congratulations on your play and thanks for liking my post “Nostalgia – Toys”. I’m a perfectionist too. It takes me ages to write a post. What with working full time and blogging, I’m only getting 5 hours sleep every night! lol

Leave a Reply

