Be our guest, just don’t think about the plot

I’ve admitted it before and I’ll do it again. I love Beauty and the Beast. As much as it’s a Munchhausen Syndrome tale of a quasi-abusive man who sorta changes his way and the girl who gives up all her lofty dreams for him, I still watch it every time I see it on TV and hum “Be our Guest” for days after.”\

belle_rumple

I’m even obsessed with Rumple and Belle on Once Upon a Time.  It’s a cruel trick that I can only believe a corporate evil genius came up with to make a character that so plays into literary nerds, knowing we instantly bond to any awesome character.

The problem, as I said, the plot is awful but even more than as a basic morality tale, there are so many holes that as a five year old, I couldn’t see, but as an adult, well that’s another story.  Buzzfeed has a great article detailing it. Beware, though, after reading it, you may never see the “beloved” Disney classic in the same light again.

Bonus read: A great article with little know facts about the movie. 

6 comments on “Be our guest, just don’t think about the plot

  1. This was one of my favorite Disney movies. Ever. It’s awesomeness is what earned it the Academy Award for Best Picture (and shortly thereafter, prompted the addition of the Best Animated Film category).

    Nevertheless, with this post (and the link for that hilarious write-up) you’ve completely changed the way I’ll look at this forever. Seriously, how is Chip… POSSIBLE???

Leave a Reply

