Help a girl out (still time to vote) and NaNoWriMo fun!

There is still time to vote for my play, The Wall, please help me out (read it too it’s pretty awesome) and vote! 

Whew! That’s out of the way. Did you know NaNoWriMo, was going on (surprising right). I mean no one on WordPress is talking about it, are they?

For those who don’t know. NaMo is the insane undertaking of trying to write a novel in an entire month. I tried several years and usually by week one I am so far behind that I throw in the towel.

I’ve lost two days of writing already, first to Halloween, which I don’t regret. I never go out or see my high school friends and we have a blast, even got a standing ovation at the karaoke bar for our rendition of “I want you to want me.”

Boo Berry, FrankenBerry and Yummy Mummy

Boo Berry, FrankenBerry and Yummy Mummy

Then yesterday, I was ill (I’ve been fighting a cold all week). Between that, trying to work two jobs and applying to graduate school, I know it will be a fight to fit in enough writing to meet my goal of a complete novel. And that’s ok.

Goals are awesome, but sometimes, I think we get so focused on the outcome we forget why we set the goals in the first place.

Maybe just participating, making a vow to have a month focused on writing is an the real reward. After all, if I only get half a novel written, that’s still have a novel I didn’t have written before.

So my friends, write. Write and write some more. Maybe you will finish a novel in a month, maybe you won’t. But whatever you get down, remember that is something you didn’t have written before.

Also, if you are lacking inspiration, check out these quotes! They are sure to inspire you to write more. 

15 comments on “Help a girl out (still time to vote) and NaNoWriMo fun!

  1. Hi Rachel. Thanks for reading my post. I love your play, so I voted for it. It reminds me a little of my son. He’s a dreamer and loves to stop to smell the roses. Best of luck on the contest.

  2. aloha Rachel. i like the line you are thinking through on this. i think one of the real benefits of setting a goal is in trying to reach it whether we reach it or not. if we always reach our goal maybe the goal needs to be a little higher sometimes. and. if we get half a novel done in one month—look what can happen in 2 months. NaNoWriMo fun on. aloha.

  3. It sounds like a great opportunity for new writers to get noticed. My only word of warning would be that I’ve just finished my second novel in about 2 and a half months. A sort of madness gripped me to reach the end and I’m pleased its done, don’t get me wrong, but I don’t think it did a great deal for my health/ sanity. Remember to keep coming up for air every so often- writing can be quite a compulsive activity although highly satisfying in the end.

  4. I happen to have 2 people on my list who wrote boot camps and or tips blogs for NaNoWriMo. even considered participating myself, but I suck under a time pressure as with Hallow Skull and had no prep done as you apparently should. I enjoyed there blogs with ideas or tips and motivation. 1667 words a day, 50000 at least end of month. 1 Novel richer.

  5. I’ve been trying. I just have a job that likes to take full advantage of Ohio’s insane mandatory overtime rulings and I’ve recently acquired a newborn. I think, as soon as I get a decent writing partner, I’m going to start shooting out some stuff though as I have a slew of half finished scripts.

    Also, excellent costume ideas. But no Fruit Brute?

  6. I agree with you about Nanowrimo. It’s a pressure-filled month of madness, but I can say that there’s fun along the way. The first year I participated nearly drove my family crazy, but they ended up being my biggest supporters. They even went to write-ins with me. Overall, I think it’s worth it. I made significant progress on my projects because it. We’ll see what happens this year.

  7. This is my first NaNo and I’m thoroughly enjoying it thus far. I’m still working to meet my daily word count today, but I’ll meet it before I head off to bed for sure. I’ve always wanted to commit a month to writing, but just never had the inspiration. In taking part in NaNo, I feel like I’m completely surrounded by people just like me and it’s been pushing me on these past three days even though I didn’t get in anywhere near as much planning as I’d hoped I would. I’m excited to see where this novel ends up by the end of the month and I’m just happy to see it coming to life.

  8. I’m also doing NanoWriMo, writing two comics and battling what might be the flu or a case of I’m just a whiny baby. Good luck! Thanks for liking my post today. I look forward to reading yours.

  9. i am participating and its not very easy currently but i keep telling myself “its only for a month” so am hanging in there and writing. yesterday i came home very late and after supper and going to bed, my mind rudely reminded me that i had a book to write! and i couldn’t shut it up so i got up and wrote! argh! that sucked but at least am way ahead where i was three days ago- and that’s a great thing! 🙂 i hope there is a good ending to this month!

Leave a Reply

