Little Free Library the coolest idea ever!

A little while ago, I noticed this outside  on one of the streets of Bloomington, Illinois,  which is a stone’s throw away from where I live.

The concept is beautiful, sharing books with your neighbors.  Take a book. Leave a different book. Let the love spread. Interact with your neighbor and bring your love of books beyond the schools and libraries where they live.

little free library

little free library

I think this is an amazing idea! If you visit their website, you can get complete details.  The kits can be a bit pricey (anywhere from 250 to 1000) dollars.  But you can always just build one yourself.  This could be the perfect idea for people like me who absolutely dread winter. And the website has building tips. (They also have a book bench idea, which is pretty snazzy.)

This is a great idea for book lovers like myself who find their library overflowing with books.

They have a “make it official” package which gives you some benefit , but again, if you want to set up a rouge library, you can help people and feel like a rebel as well.

I definitely intend to work on one for my little town. We amazingly enough have a library, which I do love. But it has a limited supply of books which is greatly different than my collection.  Besides, it seems like an amazing way to interact with your neighbors!

 

46 comments on “Little Free Library the coolest idea ever!

  1. That is the cutest thing! I work in Little Italy, Chicago. At a nearby Starbucks, they have a simple cardboard box with the same concept. It’s the coolest thing. Like a treasure box for adults! Stumbled upon a great book this way. Thank you for visiting my blog!

  2. Pingback: Little Free Library | Artessor

  3. A truly wonderful idea.
    Sadly, where I live, Johannesburg, the books would likely be nicked in five minutes flat.
    One of our neighbours, an elderly lady , was burgled yesterday, but the cash she kept at home was still there. She had hidden it in a book, and her bookshelf was one of the only things that wasn’t disturbed!

  4. This is such a cool idea that I’m thinking of starting one up. I was wondering what to do with the excess books and selling them on ebay seemed tacky. Thanks!

  5. So much nicer to share books rather than have them end up in a paper recycler. In our area we normally bring the books we are finished reading to the adult schools. Oftentimes there are items related to craft courses, which get picked up immediately. Thanx for sharing this article with us.

  6. Pingback: Little Free Library the coolest idea ever! | Fresh Kitty Litter

  7. Hey, thanks for the ‘Like’ to my son’s cheetah story. I checked your recent posts and found this one I liked. Here is a fellow blogger with another creative book exchange idea you might like. Her site is worth a browse.
    http://mybeautfulthings.wordpress.com/2013/08/13/book-swap-box-old-oak-tree-and-travelling-dog/

    Your post mentions Bloomington. In a former life, I lived in Pontiac. Now in Iowa. My wife’s sister and husband live in Hudson. Small world, isn’t it?

  8. We must be near neighbors–I live close to Bloomington, IL, too. Hello! 🙂

    LOVE this idea! Glad I saw it here. Might have to build me one of those.

  9. Pingback: Spreading words | Fresh Kitty Litter

Leave a Reply

