Oh yay! I got a guest blog published!

This was a fun an exciting weekend at the comic book festival. It has definately inspired me to look for a graphic designer and work on a comic idea I have had for a while(more details to follow).

But first, I have some fun and  exciting news to share. jumpI have had a guest post published on the Independent Play(w)rights website! It’s titled 5 things I wish I knew before I became a playwright.

It is, if I do say so myself, a good little piece of information that contains some  great tips I had to learn the hard way. If you are just starting out writing plays or even if you are experience, go ahead and give it a read.  You might just learn a thing or two!

25 comments on “Oh yay! I got a guest blog published!

  1. Well done on your guest blog spot! It was a really energetic, enthusiastic but also valuable and informative piece.

    I’m no good in the field of drama at all – as you say, everything is so different once it’s said out aloud. But I love seeing plays. And I went to a talk by Mark Haddon and he said theatre people are *so* lovely and supportive of each other. I guess it comes down to the collaboration.

  2. Congratulations! I’ve never tried to write a play and I think it would be beyond me – but I still loved your post: such an interesting insight into a different form of writing.

    Btw, at first glance I thought the photo was of someone jumping for joy in front of a gravestone..! Certainly got my attention!

  3. Congratulations! My daughter went to AADA in LA and so many people slowly fell off over her time there… not realizing just how much English was involved in acting, character researche…etc… No one truly understands just how much it takes to write a play! So great! Keep us posted!

  4. Sweet!
    I just read the article and you hit the nail on the coffin. My favorite was definitely number 4, “Rejection is part of daily life.” It stings but it is ohh sooo true. On the flip side, once a publication is accepted and/or a play is put into production the feeling is flippin’ amazing. Thanks for sharing your insights.

  5. Read your guest post. The first item about friends and others reading your stuff definitely applied to me after doing my fiction stories. You really need to get honest feedback on works you feel content with, but… That “honest ” feedback is so important. And when you’ve re-read your stuff on the basis of that feedback, it sure helps with the re-editing. Thanx for visiting my blog, and have a wonderful day.

  6. Thanks for the like on my blog Rachael. Sounds like you are making some great connects and getting some spotlight on your writing. Well done. Did I see on your about me page that you do visual art as well or no? The comic or graphic novel idea would be an awesome project. I’d say go for it. Be well and keep up the great work. Alexander Johnny

Leave a Reply

