What can you do with 30 days?

“Never regret thy fall,
O Icarus of the fearless flight
For the greatest tragedy of them all
Is never to feel the burning light”
— Oscar Wilde

What can you do in 30 days? Can you just start a career?

I a shying away from calling the month of September a publishing challenge, as I am awful with challenges. Every October      I swear I am going to write a novel, and a week into it, I find that I am completely behind, eventually relenting to my failure.

But as I have grown in my career and my passion for writing, I have come to realize that sometime we all need a push to take us to the next level.

So here is my personal challenge. 30 days. 30 submissions, and at least one a week, posting a short story or poem on my blog.

I know it is going to be rough. But I also know that it will be worth the sweat and tears. Wish me luck.

15 comments on “What can you do with 30 days?

  1. Best of luck to you! I just committed so a similar challenge: make (visual) art every day for 40 days. What’s amazing about it is that there’s no “goal” – nothing “due” at the end. I can just explore and do whatever I want. That way, I don’t feel bad if all I do is learn calligraphy flourishes in a day.

    How’s your challenge going?

    • I’ve submitted 3 places (two for poems and one for plays) and are preparing more for the weekend. I think that I am going to end up doing blitzes on Sat and Sunday to make up for the days I miss during the week. It is going well. I feel like I have little more of a goal to actually get stuff done. How’s your challenge going?

  2. You are doing the right thing by setting a goal and holding yourself to that goal. Nothing makes a writer sweat like a deadline, even a self-imposed one. Keep writing & keep sharing! – Cronin Detzz

Leave a Reply

