Rejection

“I’m goin’

paper my walls

with rejection”

The next month, I plan on a publishing extravaganza, finishing my book of short plays for self-publishing and taking most of my existing work and submitting it to various magazines.

What shall come with it?

Rejection.

And some publication.

If I’m lucky moderate success.

rejection

The reality of the game is no matter how polished or amazing a piece is, if it doesn’t fit into a certain criteria (which sometimes is just bizarre and random) it will come back to you, along with a lovely form letter, or if you are lucky, a more personalized letter of rejection.

“Thank you, but at this time….”

My question to you, what do you do with rejection?

When I was younger, rejection bother me immensely; I felt as if a hand were slapping me across the face; but now, as I have accept this as an inevitable part of the art life, I think I want to take a more whimsical tone towards rejection.

In short, I’m going to make some art out of it ( finish my above started poem on rejection). If I get a fine enough collection of letters, maybe some wallpaper for my writing area.

Rejection should be taken with a grain of salt. Review your work, see if it needs to be rewritten and then move on and resubmit.

And  remember, if you are feeling down about a form letter rejection, remember you are not alone. Most famous (and not so famous) writers face the world of rejection.

34 comments on “Rejection

  1. Good luck! Hopefully you’ll find some success along the way.

    I’ve been rejected a few times. If I don’t receive feedback then I look at the piece again from the editor’s perspective. Chances are, I’ll find things that needed improvement. I guess it’s a learning experience for me.

  2. Rejection’s a part of the game but terrifying. I haven’t gone that far yet, which I’m a little ashamed to say. I’m trying to accrue a few short stories and then chuck them out into the world. Very brave. Do awesome things.

  3. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5Gq8Uxalg8U- you’ll like this video I think it’s very on topic. I think the best way is to climb up and over it. The more I note it happening, whatever form it comes in the less it seems to bother me all that much. It’s tough at first in fact my first official rejection came from Faber and Faber and in retrospect I was very premature with what I sent to them, so I think it was fair enough; it put me off, for quite a while from sending any more work anywhere as your initial put down would if you allow it, however I’m honing my skills now on account of this. Not letting it drag me down, but inspire me to write like I really mean to write for myself first and foremost. I see anything else positive coming of it as an extra smile.

  4. Pingback: Rejection | Love Mekanism

  5. One of the hardest things I had to learn as an actor was how to accept that rejection was a part of life, and that if criticism was offered not to take it as a personal attack. I’m far better at it now and have developed a thick skin. The one thing I always try to think to myself is that if there as at least one person who liked my work (and this is more for writing) whether it’s a friend or producer, I have done my job.

    Of course, that doesn’t pay the bills :D. Have a network around you. The constant rejection can get difficult because after a while your mind starts to convince itself that the work is crap or that you are crap, which is extremely rarely true. Stay stalwart and good luck! :D.

  6. Pingback: New Video Challenge to Discuss My Creative Writings | Love Mekanism

  7. I don’t pay it no nevermind.

    Well, maybe a little.

    Ok, look, I put on a strong face when I’m around people; I cry when I’m alone. After a few days of beating myself up I get angry. Then comes the Bond villain style plans for vengeance against those tasteless hacks. When I get tired of my blubbering I get back to work.

    One day though, they’ll see. And I’ll have the last laugh,

  8. Most probably nobody shall recognise your genius in this lifetime – whilst the kids’ll get to go on all kinds of talk shows and stuff, when you’re dead. It doesn’t seem right to me, either.

  9. More than any other endeavours, creative pursuits are the most judged, most vilified and most adored, so is it a rite of passage, building and honing our stubborn or warrior instincts?

    Through it all I fear we lose the focus that it is ourselves who are the greatest critics, the most ardent fan of our work.

    I have uttered the phrase “F*$k you, what do you know!” but with a little experience I utter those words internally, which means others may applaud some of my work, but not the work that ‘rocks my boat’!

    I realise that each image I create either has a different market or no market but me!

    It is the curse/passion that we will never stop, ever, from the process of creation!

    I wish you the luck you need in the pursuit of kind eyes and quick wit in getting published and the success craved!

  10. It doesn’t bother me much anymore, it just one person’s opinion is all it is. I keep writing and sending stuff out. In the end you need a thick skin. If all else fails I can always go the self-pub route.

  11. I am sooo hoping this time is your time! I hear you about the rejection thing. It sucks. And I can’t imagine it doesn’t affect everyone now and then. I’ve started submitting smaller things as it improves my chances. But novels? I think the only light of publication they will ever see is when I print them out and put them in a three ring binder…

  12. Pingback: Fighting off the Demon of Rejection | Phil Slattery's Art of Horror

  13. I’ve been receiving some rejection letters (for agent submission of my novel) this year and still counting. I’m going to submit my poems for publication, which foreseeably will be expecting some too. When I was younger, I experienced rejection from boys, growing up I was rejected by some of my peers due to our differences. I don’t really care. Route to publication can never be smooth anyway. You just have to keep writing and keep sending. It only takes one ‘yes’.

  14. Oh, honey, I have SO many rejection letters and I can’t lie: Each new one stings a bit. Glad you’ve found an artsy, and empowering, way of using rejection to your advantage. You go, girl! Cheers and happy writing, and submitting, and publishing.

  15. Not sure if someone else has mentioned this already, but Stephen King used a spike to attach his rejection slips to. For what it’s worth.

    Best of luck to you. You’re certainly further along than I.

  16. You’re funny:P And, you collect great lil cartoons/comic panels. I saw this and thought about what I did when I left my last job. They threw away SO much stuff that could have been reused. And, somehow, I came into possession of some unused stationery from the main office. I decided to turn some of it into a tumbleweed and feature it in a lil video about the place being torn down:P I find that quite humorous. But, I was/am struggling in finding a way to let viewers know it was company waste I reused:P I am sure it’s a simple fix like adding a text screen at the end…but I haven’t done it, yet. And, now, I don’t know who even cares to watch the video. It still makes me cry a bit…and laugh.

    Yes, take those rejection letters or wasted paper and turn them into masterpieces. Could we do the same with our own personal waste?:P hehe eeeew.

  17. This reminded of a guy who decided to post all of his rejection letters for his book in a blog, I can’t remember the name of the blog for the life of me, but the point is that rejection stings, sometimes a little more than other times, but what differentiates the published writer from the unpublished one… is the one who moves on and is persistent. So giving up should not even be a part of your vocabulary.

  18. At first, it bothered me immensely, too. But then I kind of enjoyed it. I mean, just imagine if you’ve been rejected like 20-30 times before finally getting published. You’ll have stories to tell and we can admire you for your strength and dedication. Isn’t that what’s beautiful about this writing life?

    I recently got a publishing deal, but before that I’d been rejected for 15 times. I kept all the letters in a bag. Just wanted to know how many bags I’d have to buy lol

    Good luck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

