Dating advice from literature

I won’t lie. I have had a pretty miserable dating history, an innate ability to find the losers in the crowd and hitch my wagon to them, only to find myself, a year later single, facebook stalking my ex and wondering how I could have dated such a tool.

I asked him to act like he loved me. This is how my ex responded....cute or indicative of his tooliness. (fyi it was the latter.)

I asked him to act like he loved me. This is how my ex responded….cute or indicative of his tooliness. (fyi it was the latter.)

But  this history of heartbreak and kissing frogs has given me a great appreciation for literature’s taken on love.

Most people spend a life looking for love. If you are lucky, you may find one love that last. A beautiful and torturous gamble.

I stumbled upon this page a few weeks ago,  30 pieces of dating advice from literature.

Commonsensical,  witty and sometimes profound, it’s definitely worth the few minutes of your time to explore (though I won’t lie, I skipped over the 50 Shades of Grey link).

 

 

9 comments on “Dating advice from literature

  1. I liked the quote from “Breakfast at Tiffany’s” the best:

    “Never love a wild thing, Mr. Bell. That was Doc’s mistake. He was always lugging home wild things. A hawk with a hurt wing. One time it was a full-grown bobcat with a broken leg. But you can’t give your heart to a wild thing: the more you do, the stronger they get. Until they’re strong enough to run into the woods. Or fly into a tree. Then a taller tree. Then the sky. That’s how you’ll end up, Mr. Bell. If you let yourself love a wild thing. You’ll end up looking at the sky.”

  2. Oh honey, that boy was a power tool. Perhaps a Snap-On tool; a particularly predictable, interchangeable and mind- numbingly mundane tool. Better is out there. And hey, nice writing! You’ve got skills!

  3. I am a little confused here. You are Facebook stalking your ex, but it feels like you dropped him. Usually, it’s the one who was dropped who then starts stalking because relationships are games of power, which is obvious when you break up because one party wonders why they were wasting their time and that person becomes their obsession.

    I don’t know what “tooliness” means but I want to. I wondered why you would ask him to act like he loved you. To me, someone should have to play a part, it should come naturally.

    I agree that you can spend a life looking for love. I know I have and I have loved at least 3 times but it never lasted very long. The one’s I should have stayed with didn’t really turn me on. So, while they were good for me they didn’t do it for me. So, we are in agreement about this beauty and tortuous gamble. I think I am drawn to drama and I have abandonment issues. My father died when I was very young. I read a bit of 50 Shades and it sounded to me like a fantasy.

Leave a Reply

