That’s called the blues (writer’s block)

I took the name of this blog (street of dreams) from a Guns n Roses song of the same title:

“And though as long as this road seems
I know it’s called the street of dreams
But that’s not stardust on my feet
It leaves a taste that’s bittersweet
That’s called the blues”

I connected with this song. The struggle of finding our purpose resonates for me, not only in life butΒ  as a writer, knowing that there would be times when I would get hopelessly lost trying to find my way.

It’s a fact of life.

We all get lost.

Life, loss, our on emotions, creative writing blocks and a millions other things get in the way.

The question is not when we will find this funk, but how we get ourselves out of it…..

I find things to look forward to, things to energize me.

For example, my goal is to (next year) attend the Indie Book fest. I encourage you to check out its website. It looks like an amazing time.

Conferences are also an amazing way to reconnect with your writing side.

A few years ago, I went to Indiana University Writer’s Conference. The week long experience of writing and classes was nothing short of amazing! As I can’t make it this year (work), I am trying to attend at least one conference online.

What about you? What do you do when you get in a funk, especially a prolonged black hole of white pages for weeks on end funk?

23 comments on “That’s called the blues (writer’s block)

  1. Hi Rachael. Thanks for coming by. What do I do when in the prolonged black hole of white pages . . .? Sit by a stream, or find space just to let it all flow through. You know? Or, as Vonnegut writes: ‘You set the story in motion, and as you’re watching this thing begin, all these opportunities [accidental happenings] will show up.’ πŸ™‚

  2. I just tell myself that it’ll get better soon. I know it always does, I just have to look forward to it.

    How was the writer’s conference? I’ve looked for some in my area and wanted to know what they were like.

  3. I continue on with my writing/reading activities, but will also try to do something creative, like sewing, crafting or taking pictures. If you rejuvenate inspiration, it fuels other areas of your life.

  4. I wait patiently for inspiration to come, and of she doesn’t, then I force myself to write–even if its all crap and looks like Welsh. Usually that process gives me a good kick start.

    Good luck!

  5. For YEARS I had been battling writers block. Sitting down in front of a PC and staring at a blank document for hours on end. Nothing I tried worked. Creative prompts, reading other books/stories, creative writing courses.
    Nothing…
    Till a few months back, I decided to stuff it all in a sock and write for fun again. No worries about grammar, what some other guy might think, or writing with the goal to publish.
    Heck, I do not even edit my stories right now, other than the spell check errors my word processor spits out.
    Nope, fun is where its at for me now

  6. Sometimes I skip to a future scene (assuming I’ve been good and done an outline), other times I divert my attention with a short story. I also shower. For some reason, in the shower things happen. Occasionally those things are related to writing.

    I’m definitely trying pie though. Any excuse to eat pie.

  7. I keep writing…even it is just a bunch of junk. I’ve found that sometime I can steal a line or two from my junk and turn it into something that might just possibly be worth reading! And I read other people’s work and encourage them…and sooner or later it comes back πŸ™‚

  8. I’d love to go to a writer’s conference, it sounds awesome. I try to deal with writer’s block by doing something totally different that what I’m blocked on, like forcing myself to start a short story or flash fiction when I’m stuck on a bigger project.

  9. i also tell myself that it will get better. i’m learning not to get stuck in the ebbs of creative flow…because that just stresses me out further. it’s a rhythm, and that’s ok!

  10. I probably shouldn’t admit this OUT LOUD in cyberspace, but I’ve never really had writer’s block where I’m staring at white pages for days on end. However, I’ve had issues where I’m in the middle of writing a screenplay or a novel, and I get stuck, and I’m unsure where to go with a story. In that instance, I shelve that project and go back to another project where I’d previously gotten hung up as well. Usually, that’ll jump starts my creative mojo to look at something different, and most of the time, I get an AWESOME idea of how to proceed from there with either project or both.

    Alternatively, I’ll read a book in a totally different genre than the project that I’m currently stalled on, and that often sparks some new ideas. And last but not least, I’ll watch a movie in the SAME genre as my project, and if there’s a disappointing ending or something, I start thinking about how to rewrite the ending…and VOILA…suddenly a new idea comes to me that is better than the concept of the movie…so, MAYBE, reading a book in a different genre or watching a BAD movie might help you…or not…:)…just thought I’d mention it.
    TB

  11. “It’s a fact of life. We all get lost. Life, loss, our on emotions, creative writing blocks and a millions other things get in the way.”

    And after wandering, we make sure to have a great come back. I guess that’s how writers are for the most part πŸ™‚

  12. Hey, nice comment thread! I think the name ‘Writer’s Block’ give strength to the hiccup of creativity. An excuse that we can easily use…but we all get it, don’t we! If I am writing a novel, I just remember that I am the God and my characters will do whatever I please. So I just start by writing any thing I please my characters to do, the more ridiculous the better, and usually from this stupidity inspiration starts to come and go in strange and new directions…having a couple of creative outlets helps, too!

  13. “What about you? What do you do when you get in a funk, especially a prolonged black hole of white pages for weeks on end funk?”

    I listen to sappy 80’s lovesongs. They are the skeletons in my closet and they include (gasp!): Air Supply, Barry Manilow (yup!), James Ingram, Peter Cetera, Debbie Gibson & Tiffany (I know, I am cringing as well), Atlantic Star, Carole King. Occasionally, I would throw in Bon Jovi or Guns N Roses.

    To the cool people out there, please feel free to shoot me now.

Leave a Reply

