Why  I  write:

  • I write because a trained monkey could do my job, not a NASA, piloting rocket monkey, but an average run on of the mill, poo-flinging in the zoo monkey. I loved my job once but it is a faded lover. Until I find a new one, I wake to the doldrums of 9-5 because I have to bow down to necessity.
  • I write because there is a dull little ache in me that grows stronger with each breath. It can only be eased by spilling my blood. Words on paper.
  • I write because immortality lives in ink.
  • And (last though not least) I write because I once screamed “I am alone,” and was proven wrong by books. I hear the screaming of the masses. They want to know someone cares, someone feels that way, that they are not alone. I need desperately to reassure them of this.

You are not alone.

That is why I write.

Why do you?

5 comments on “

  1. I have been dwelling on this question. On days where i have not enough hands to catch the words falling from my brain I do not wonder, but when I stop to take a breath it plagues me & I’ve figured out I write because:
    It’s cathartic – like a garbage shute.
    It’s my way of working things out – like a whiteboard of good & bad points, what’s bothering me, or my view of something I’ve seen, or how I would react in a certain situation.
    I like playing with words – like knitting a jumper, using the same materials but making something new.
    It’s an attempt to connect – sometimes only with my self, and sometimes with others.
    Looking for praise? Im not sure of this – it’s a little like pushing your kud to the front of the line to get on Santa’s lap, cos u know they’ll get somethibg but not sure what.
    I’m hideously narcissistic – peeling the tops off old wounds to see what they look like now, and then inviting others to have a look.

  2. I write for close to the same reasons as you. Without books, I would be alone. Without other writers, I would be alone. There is comfort in reading and writing, and after a difficult day, sometimes a pen and paper is all that we have to keep us sane!

  3. I write to express my feelings and thoughts. I write because I write well and I hope to be a successful author. I write because writing is a struggle against silence. I write because I have big dreams and I want to share them with everyone. 🙂

Leave a Reply

