Maybe I’m just chicken shit (pondering self-publication)

When my friends and I turned 16, we came up with the brilliant idea of night car surfing. Our night-blind friend would drive her Eclipse  down the winding back -roads of our hometown, while one friend sat out of  the moon roof and the other (usually I) sat out of the window, legs dangling, only holding on by the fat on our bottom.  The wind rushing through my hair, stars twinkling above mixing with the danger of deer and speed bumps brought out the best and worst in me.

When you’re a stupid, daring stupid teenage, people often think you are fearless.

But I was far from it.

I am far from it.

Behind the girl who would sled down cliffs only because her friends broke bones on it was a girl striving for perfection, desperately afraid of rejection.

This doesn’t go with being an artist where rejection is a daily part of life.

And for that reason, I pushed my art aside year and year, until, no matter what I did, I couldn’t deny what was part of me. I’m not happy if I’m not making art. And what good is art if no one else sees it?

I’ll just have to deal with rejection (again and again).

But it still isn’t easy.

Nor is this.

I have a collection of stories ready for self-publication, and though I have done some research, I wanted to ask you, my readers, if you have a preferred self-publication sight/method?

I need to stop making excuses and just do it!

What is the worse that could happen, right?

Rach

16 comments on “Maybe I’m just chicken shit (pondering self-publication)

  1. I went through Amazon, Kindle first and the Create Space for the trade paperback. I did the cover myself in Paint.NET and did the formatting in Calibre. My mother, who is a freelance editor, did the line editing for free, Total out of pocket costs for the launch (including the price of the software) zero.

    I will be honest–my first novel was probably not ready to be launched. The ending is weak, and I have a couple of consistency errors that I have to explain away in the sequel. However, if I had waited until it was perfect I don’t believe I would have ever gone to print. I learned a huge amount over the past year, about writing, about publishing, about marketing, and I am using those things for my next book–which also won’t be perfect.

    I’ll take what I learn from the mistakes I am going to make on my second book and use them to make my third one better, and so on.

    Ain’t nuthin’ to it but to do it.

  2. If you are happy with your work, then maybe you should let your friends and family read them and tell you what they think. Then you could post one or two stories on your blog and find out what we think. Then you could find all the agents on Twitter and invite them to read your stories and ask them to contact publishers and demand your 25% minimum for you. There again, I did read an article about a young lady who makes millions every year by churning out lots of stories and selling them cheap for e-readers http://tinyurl.com/6hl4hul

  3. Go for it, Rachel! But first I hope you’ve truly “tried” the traditional publishing route. Too many talented writers give up too soon. (For instance, they say you need to query 50-100 agents before possibly snagging one.)
    I can’t suggest any self-publishing tips, since I published through a traditional publisher. I do know, however, that book promotion is a HUGE job, a full-time job in fact, and I would suggest to begin scheduling blog tours, blog guest postings and reviewers months before your book comes out.
    Good luck! Let me know if I can do anything to help ease the way.

  4. I love this post. I saw so much of me in many of your words…I put off writing for a year or two then write a bunch then put that in a desk drawer for a couple of years then write a bunch…but I never really finished or polished any of my works…BUT now I actually am!
    ALSO…
    JOIN a writing group! I just joined Romance Writers of America and although a little spendy, it’s going to be worth my time….I was shocked at how many writers are traditionally published in these groups. AND many, many, many more than are self published.
    It used to be that self publishing was a No-no but now everything is changing and supposedly many traditionally published authors are reverting to self publishing so they can control all aspects of their works…

  5. Self publication isn’t for everybody I did a lot of research on it before and many recommend just doing it the old fashion way, but if you feel you should go for it then do it don’t let fear of failure stop you. You can do anything you set your mind to 🙂

  6. I agree with alot said here in the comments. I think publish something as a ebook via amazon is a great start. Get your name out there. Get reviews. Build a following. Then you can shop for publishers.

  7. As an indie novelist, it was a very personal decision, and one I’ve never regretted. I don’t say self-published, because it takes a lot of assistance to get it right. However, all the kudos and face-palms eventually fall on the author, so if it’s something you want to do, research your online options, make sure your manuscript is polished, and give it a go.

    And like MishaBurnett said; my first novel probably wasn’t ‘perfect’, however, you have to start somewhere. Traditionally published authors improve as they go along too. 🙂

  8. I’m in a similar situation, not only with self-publication but also with the fear of rejection. I’m trying to put finishing touches on a first novella before taking the plunge. I keep thinking, if I never put it out there, no one can tell me it’s no good. But really, what is the worst that could possibly happen? Best of luck, I’ll be looking for updates, keep us posted!

Leave a Reply

