I’m not mature enough for a Nook

I am a sane person. Let me stress this, when I’m not on an adventure or at a concert, I’m an in bed at ten p.m. on a Friday night sort of girl. I drive a Taurus. I work with 5 year olds. I live an unassuming life in a quiet town in the heart of Illinois.

Nothing terribly exciting.

Except now I’ve lost it.

I purchased a nook days ago, and before the soft glow of its artificial light had grown dim, I found myself glued to the computer like a crazy-cat lady is to icanhascheezerburger, desperately seeking out all free ebooks, that the Nook has to offer.

Obsessed with the Nook

Obsessed with the Nook

Books and more books. Old friends, Hemingway, Dickens and Plath are just a touch of the finger away and others, writers who I have never heard of, are pulling me away from reality, inviting me to dance in their world.Do any of you have a Nook? If so how do you resist the urge to spend all of your time seeking out new works to read?

How do you budget?

I could see myself spending much too much on this, especially since you can set up an online account with a credit card (so I won’t have to see the total until I get the bill.)

A friend of mine advised me to buy a gift card at the beginning of the year and allot my money that way. I’m thinking about try this and if I do, I’ll let you know how it works.

10 comments on “I’m not mature enough for a Nook

  1. Here’s a possible solution (feel free to tell me if I’m crazy!) … why not just buy books as you read them? As in, don’t buy a book until you’re finished reading your current book. Then buy your next book and read it. Etc. etc. Although it does take away the fun of a book shopping spree, and it doesn’t really work if you read a gazillion books a year anyway …

  2. Thanks for the tip on the free books! I was like that when I first got my Nook, I wanted to get so many books. I tried to face reality and limit myself, just because I knew I could only read so much. Good luck!

  3. LOL! I got a kobo mini for last Christmas and had the same problem. I’ve slowed down now though. I don’t have a credit card so it’s mainly free ebooks for now anyway. But I slapped myself a few times and forced myself to focus on writing rather than surfing for more ebooks 🙂 The odd one still slips through, but I don’t go hunting them…

  4. I have a Kindle. I only purchase the “gift cards” for it, to prevent me from going psycho shopaholic with books. Even still, I “purchase” every free book offered. 1000’s of them.

    There are worse things to purchase, a book addiction is not as bad as say, a crystal figurine addiction, a ballpoint pen in every color and size addiction, or a three prong plug addiction. At least these e-books do not take up any physical space. 😀

  5. I don’t have an e-reader as I can’t afford one, but I’d like one. But I do download songs off itunes and I’m tempted just to download everything I find that I love. What I did was get some counters and put them in a dish next to a jar. I allow myself to put a counter into the jar if I do things worthy of a counter. I write down for each counter what I did then get my sister to look over them to make sure I’m not cheating myself and putting in a counter for something lame like doing the washing. I’m allowed to buy one song with each counter but if I haven’t saved enough of my paycheck I’ll loose all my counters. It’s a little kid’s approach to it but it works for me.

  6. I bought a Kindle Touch back in the Spring, and now can’t imagine reading without it. It was odd at first, but now it feels weird to physically hold a book while reading LOL

Leave a Reply

