Happy Birthday, Pride and Prejudice!

“In vain have I struggled. It will not do. My feelings will not be repressed. You must allow me to tell you how ardently I admire and love you.”

–Mr. Darcy,  Pride and Prejudice

Pride and Prejudice,  Jane Austen’s masterpiece and a book beloved by millions turned two hundred yesterday. In celebration of the 200th birthday, I’ve posted a few of my favorite links on Austen and her work:

Of course, the celebration wouldn’t be complete without a good-spirited debated over who portrayed Darcy best.

Personally, I swoon over Macfadyen and Rintoul. To me, their portrayal of Mr. Darcy is the most nuanced, the most relatable, the most human,  though perhaps their portrayal isn’t as close to the book as Firth’s (which ironically is the one person I couldn’t stand….)

The links below detail arguments for two of the most recent actors, Matthwe MacFayden or Colin Firth

Who do you prefer?

Matthew MacFayden or Colin Firth

Of course they aren’t the only actors to portray Darcy.

Below, I’ve compiled a list of 5 of the most recent\well-known actors who played Darcy.

Who do you like best?

Sorry, by the way, that I didn’t post on this yesterday. I had all intentions of doing so, but I went to the rock climbing gym and things got a little chaotic, including my harness breaking on one climb. Needless to say I ended up spending more time at the gym than I had allotted for.

2 comments on “Happy Birthday, Pride and Prejudice!

  1. I think Firth is the definitive Darcy, as well as being helped along by such a true-to-the-book adaptation. That said, I really liked MacFadyen’s performance (and Keira Knightley’s, too). I thought he was very smart to go a completely different direction from Firth and I liked the different interpretation he brought to the character, not really haughty at all, just shy.

Leave a Reply

