In theatre, expect the unexpected.

My "fans" (ok my friend and bf) and I before the plays

My “fans” (ok bf and friend) and I before the show

I started the day on edge. Today (Sunday) was the big day. Two of my plays were showing at Cornstock Theatre, as well as one other I directed.

There’s a special fear I feel on performance day. The dread and trepidation that an audience will despise a piece and  cringe along with you at the awkward moments, that in your head made sense, but that dissipate on stage, leaving a cloud of awkward stilted words hanging, fog.

Adding to the stress, a day before, I learned that one of my actors had come down with the flu, leaving the art director and I scrabbling to find another one.  Luckily, an actor in one of the other performances stepped up at the last-minute.

I came to the theatre, anxious and worried, but my worries were completely unfounded.

My first play, “Game On,” opened the performance.  It was wonderfully acted. And if I do say so myself, and I hate to toot my own horn, it was wonderfully received. The audience laughed and applauded, though there are a few parts that I am going to revise.

My second play,  “A Sunday Proposal,” opened the second act. This was the play I was most fearful of. I have spent two years revising it and still can’t get the play where I want it. However, seeing in on stage has softened my opinion of it. It is delightful for what it is, a light-hearted, comedy about the affairs of the family.

The day ended with “Red, Blue, Whatever” by Gary Hale, and directed by myself. I was fearful that my inexperience would drag down the show. But my actors were amazing. The performance was lively and more importantly the writer was pleased with performance.

Game On by Rachael Stanford

Game On by Rachael Stanford

A Sunday Proposal  by Rachael Stanford

A Sunday Proposal by Rachael Stanford

Red, Blue, Whatever by Gary Hale, directed by Rachael Stanford

Red, Blue, Whatever by Gary Hale, directed by Rachael Stanford

In the next few days, I will upload the videos of my performances as well as a few more pictures that will be place in my gallery.

3 comments on “In theatre, expect the unexpected.

Leave a Reply

