Writing quotes

I love quotes on writing; they are such a great motivating factor. So I’ve decided to share a few of my favorites with you today!

You must stay drunk on writing so reality cannot destroy you.
― Ray Bradbury, Zen in the Art of Writing
The role of a writer is not to say what we all can say, but what we are unable to say.
― Anaïs Nin
“The road to hell is paved with adverbs.”
― Stephen King, On Writing
“Being a writer is a very peculiar sort of a job: it’s always you versus a blank sheet of paper (or a blank screen) and quite often the blank piece of paper wins.”
― Neil Gaiman
I am a drinker with writing problems
― Brendan Behan
I would hurl words into this darkness and wait for an echo, and if an echo sounded, no matter how faintly, I would send other words to tell, to march, to fight, to create a sense of hunger for life that gnaws in us all.
― Richard Wright, American Hunger, 1977
The difference between the right word and the almost right word is the difference between lightning and a lightning bug.
― Mark Twain, The Wit and Wisdom of Mark Twain
Writing is a socially acceptable form of schizophrenia.
― E.L. Doctoro
We must be careful about what we pretend to be.”
― Kurt Vonnegut
You have to write the book that wants to be written. And if the book will be too difficult for grown-ups, then you write it for children.
― Madeleine L’Engle
There is nothing to writing. All you do is sit down at a typewriter and bleed.
― Ernest Hemingway

Hook on writing quotes? Check out the writing quotes tumblr!

 

16 comments on “Writing quotes

  1. I love quotes on writing they really do motivate you. One of my favorites is “If there’s a book that you want to read, but it hasn’t been written yet, then you must write it.” -Toni Morrison

  2. Sitting at a typewriter and bleeding… that’s so poetic and so true! I hope you manage to publish your novella and child’s book! You could definitely manage it, just reading your writing and how determined you sound! Best of luck! Nerd With Taste

  3. I love these quotes! Quotes always inspire me to write. Usually, if I can’t manage to write anything during the day, I read quotes by Charles Bukowski and William Saroyan and other authors that have rhythms in their writing that I love. It’s like listening to music through your eyes.

Leave a Reply

