Cosplay my way, a 3 part series

For Halloween this year, I have decided to transform myself into Harley Quinn from Arkham Asylum. This might have been an easy task, however, I’m not someone who sews or does much with clothing. I’m also on a very tight budget.

So my journey to make a cheap yet awesome costume has begun. I started out by raiding Good Will, the mecca for anyone on a budget and trying to make an awesome costume. There I found the perfect white skirt and a blouse that will serve as a base my top.  The total cost was less than 10 dollars.

Last week, I used my sewing skills to shorten up the shirt. I started with a normal shirt, and tucked it up where the tails of it ended, creating a half shirt.  I am then going to construct a duct tape corset to attach to it.

Here is what I have so far.

sewed up shirt

I’ve also created my arm warmers and bracelets. I took two tube socks (5 dollars for two pairs) , and cut a circle at the big toe of each , a small circle. The directions I found online said to sew at the seems however, on my first test that failed miserably. You would have to have baseball mitts for it to fit your hand.  So my advice, find the big toe hole and cut a small hole and then go from there. After that, I put it on my hand, and cut off the sock right above my knuckles. It naturally rolled down. I let it and sewed it down to make a sort of border and to make sure it doesn’t unravel.

BTW don’t through your toe away (if you are making it like I am), you can use them to make a bracelet. Again, once its cut off, it will roll on both ends. Just let it and put a few stitches in it to have a bracelet!

Now I know they aren’t the right color, but this weekend, I am going to use rite dye to create the red and purple look.

I still have a lot left, so I will post you on the updates as they come.

One comment on “Cosplay my way, a 3 part series

  1. I like your budget sense. And, I also am no help with sewing:P I laugh that Spider-Man can stitch his own costumes/repairs:P I can’t even draw his costume right. It’s too complex. A guy who fights like that should be wearing the simplest of costumes. Like his wrestling suit from the origin story. A mask and a sweatsuit.

    I should have read this first. I was right about the game reference. Well, ya tried. Better luck next costume project:) You get an A for the idea/choice but a C or–dare I say–D for effort/results:)

    I think with a lil more shopping/hunting time you might find more fitting pieces to assemble it right. I waver between the accurate attempt and the “doing it my own way”. I did a “ghetto” Riddler costume a few years back. I used black clothes and green glow paint to make question marks all over the shirt. I had a cheap derby hat I outfitted with ribbon and a foam question mark “pin”. The worst part was either the painting/drying or the eye mask which actually turned out decently though it’s more original than accurate. I worked hard on the cane, too. Definitely not a one day project:P I think I gave it at least two weeks after work hours.

Leave a Reply

